Declaration of Solidarity with the Palestinian People by Grupo de Puebla

Declaracion Thegem Blog Default

Grupo de Puebla, a network of renowned Latin American politicians, including ex-presidents and senior parliamentarians, has issued a groundbreaking Declaration of Solidarity with the Palestinian People. Below is their declaration translated into English:


The struggle against racism and discrimination is a common struggle of all peoples, and there is no place for apartheid in the 21st century.

December 4, 2022

A few days ago, on 29 November, we commemorated the International Day of Solidarity with the Palestinian People, a day adopted by the United Nations as a symbol of international solidarity with the Palestinian people.

In this context, and as part of the struggle against racism and in defense of human rights and the right to self-determination of peoples, the Grupo de Puebla reaffirms its active stand against Israel’s violations of international law and expresses its solidarity with the Palestinian struggle for freedom, justice and equality.

Since our beginnings, we have supported the call of the Palestinian people for recognition that it is facing not only a military occupation, but rather a colonial regime of apartheid. We reiterate our agreement with this growing international consensus and join the global anti-apartheid movement in rejecting the ties of international complicity in this inhumane situation.

The State of Israel imposes a brutal and illegal system of institutionalized racial discrimination on the entire Palestinian people, including the more than 5 million Palestinian refugees, those under military occupation in the West Bank and Gaza Strip, and those holding Israeli citizenship.

We call on our parliaments and governments to actively support the Palestinian anti-apartheid movement by demanding that the United Nations reactivates its mechanisms for combatting this crime. We also join the call of the Palestinian people on governments and international organizations to impose targeted sanctions on the State of Israel, including a military embargo and the suspension of agreements and privileges granted.

Ernesto Samper, former President of Colombia.

Rafael Correa, former President of Ecuador.

Aloizio Mercadante, Brazil.

Karol Cariola, Chile.

Ivan Cepeda, Colombia.

Cecilia Nicolini, Argentina.

Carlos Sotelo, Mexico.

Mónica Xabier, Uruguay.

Daniel Martínez, Uruguay.

Ricardo Patiño, Ecuador.